All Saints, Maldon, Essex

The town of Maldon, of sea salt fame, has been a settlement on the Blackwater Estuary since Saxon times. The church of All Saints dates back to the 12th century. Its unique feature is a triangular tower.

While there is not a huge amount of graffiti in the church there is a distinct compass drawn cross near the south door (although it resembles a consecration cross, it is too small and in the wrong place to be one). There is also a design which resembles a bird.

Of protective marks, there are several Marian marks, pentagrams, crosses and a butterfly cross.

There are a few memorials (some of which are shown above due to their proximity to Marian marks) and a mason’s mark repeated in several places.

The rest of the graffiti is made up of initials. The only date is 1749.

Report by Anthea Hawdon

All Saints
High Street
Maldon
Chelmsford
CM9 4QE
 
The church is normally open during daylight hours. There is no parking on the roads surrounding the church but there are several car parks in the town.
 
 

Search terms: Quatrefoil (compass drawn), cross (compass drawn), consecration cross, Unidentified mark, cross, possible bird, Butterfly cross, cross, memorials, W, D, S, MD, Marian mark, W, Marian mark, W (overlined), RF, W, PK, Memorial M, Marian mark, W, pentagram, mason’s mark, shield, TM, M, SD, IG, TN, TN, RI, D, RH